Drunk driving laws in New York work differently compared to other states in the United States. First of all, it’s not even called DUI (Driving under Influence). Instead, it is called DWI (Driving With Intoxication). However, even though the name and acronym are different, the outcomes and severity of charges are similar to DUI laws in other states.
DWI/DWAI laws and how a DUI lawyer in New York City can protect you
DWI/DWAI laws in New York State are quite similar to DUI laws elsewhere in the United States. Here are the DWI/DWAI criminal laws that you have to follow in New York State:
- You get charged with DWI if your blood-alcohol level (BAC) is 0.08% or more.
- If you are under the age of 21, even a BAC of 0.02% can get you arrested under DWI.
- You get charged with DWAI by Alcohol when your driving ability is being impaired by alcohol. If your BAC is between 0.05% to 0.07%, you will be arrested under DWAI-Alcohol.
- You get charged with Aggravated DWI if you have a BAC of 0.18% or more. This is a much more severe charge than a normal DWI and can get you into serious legal issues.
- As a commercial driver, you can get charged with DWI if your BAC is 0.04% or more.
An NYC DWI lawyer can help you out by making a case for the readings to be faulty as this is a very common occurrence.
The severity of DWAI charges and how a New York DUI Attorney can help you out?
If you get charged with entry-level DWAI after recording a BAC in the range of 0.05% to 0.07%, then depending on a traffic infraction, you will be fined a minimum of 300 dollars or 15 days in jail, along with a 90-day revocation of the person’s driving license. On a second offense, you will be fined a minimum of 500 dollars, 30 days in jail, and a 6-month driving ban. After three or more criminal offenses, you will be charged a minimum fine of 750 dollars, a jail term of 3 months at max, and a 6-month driving ban.
A DWI lawyer can make sure that you get the least possible punishment and will also help you avoid prison as it can destroy your career.
The severity of DWI charges and how a DUI Attorney New York can save you from it?
If you get charged with DWI, you will face a 500 dollar fine (minimum), up to a year of prison, and a 6-month driving license revocation. After a second DWI offense, you will be fined 1000 dollars (minimum), up to four years in prison, and the revocation of your license for one year at least. After three or more offenses, you will be charged 10,000 dollars(minimum) and up to 7 years in prison.
If you have a BAC of 0.18 or more, you will be charged with Aggravated DWI and its charges are even worse. A first Aggravated DWI offense can result in a minimum 1000 dollar fine and up to a year in prison. If multiple offenses happen within 10 years from the prior DWI conviction, it will be considered as felonies, and there will be strict legal actions taken against you. After a second conviction, you will be fined a minimum of 1000 dollars and up to 4 years in prison. After three or more convictions, you’ll be charged a minimum fine of 2000 dollars with up to 7 years in prison. Plus, aggravated DWI offenders will face a driving ban for at least 1 year. If a person below the age of 21 faces DWI/DUI, he/she will be losing his/her driver’s license for at least a year.
A DWI lawyer understands how law enforcement agencies work and can help make a case for a potential misjudgment by the police and a faulty BAC measurement.
Should you hire a DUI lawyer NYC?
If you feel that you are being judged too harshly in a DUI case and want to keep your criminal record clean, it is better to hire a NY DWI lawyer as he can provide a better DUI defense than you. A DWI lawyer can also give you great legal advice that can help you in the future.